Benelux Amateur Poker Championship

Looks like chinese to you? This is also available in: nlNederlands frFrançais

Ladies and Gents,

First of all, we wish you all a 2019 with lots of luck, fun and some bad beats (just to have something to talk about).

On the second day of this year, we would like to present the schedule for the Benelux Championship of Amateur Poker in Spa this February. After long discussions with Didier De Swert, the APAT management and the casino, we came up with a slightly changed concept.

When Tom Slikboer and his team introduced APAT in Belgium some years ago, low buy-in poker was something new in Casino’s. They immediately hit big numbers and became a huge success. APAT is about fun, meeting the poker family and playing poker in a professional environment for an affordable price.

In 2018 we still did all that, but we noticed that we did not get the 500 entries we had before. Last event we had some competition from Venlo in the same weekend and other events with a low buy in the week before and after in other casino’s in Belgium, Holland, Rozvadov, …

Therefore, we decided to go back to the drawing table. We analyzed what’s worked previously and what needed to be improved here in Belgium. Players seem to like our special events. Progressive bounty, Crazy Pineapple, Turbo Deepstack, … we are one of the organisations with the better side event numbers. We did take some risks with those events. We tried to introduce new varieties of Poker. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t. While the numbers in the main event were lower than before, the numbers in the side events continued to grow.

So, we’ve decided to give it a try and introduce some changes to the normal schedule for Spa. In February, the main event will be a 2-day Progressive Bounty. We will play a Tag Team side event on Friday, and on demand of the casino of Spa, we will add a Day 1a on Thursday.

The Tag Team is a concept that has been introduced in the Flemish part of Belgium by Pokahnights and gained a lot of success. The concept is being picked up by some other local poker clubs and is a guarantee of fun, which is exactly what we were looking for. Tag Team is played 5 Max, with teams of two players, sitting next to each other at the table. Action will change every street. One plays preflop, the other flop, … An extra button per team will be used that has to decide whose action it is to make. Teams cannot discuss a hand between each other. If your teammate decides to bluff the turn and is called, it is up to you to keep calm and fix the problem on the river. To attract more teams in this event, APAT Belgium will add 500 APAT Credits (€500 to spend on APAT events) to the first prize.

Next to that, the casino of Spa has decided to guarantee the events. This is a first for APAT Belgium and confirms the trust they have in us as a team and the APAT Community.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Benelux Amateur Poker Championship

Looks like chinese to you? This is also available in: nlNederlands enEnglish

Après une longue discussion interne, nous avons eu l’idée de proposer un programme légèrement modifié pour Spa. Lorsque Tom Slikboer et son équipe ont présenté APAT il y a quelques années, les tournois à faible buy-in étaient une nouveauté dans les casinos belges. Ils ont rapidement obtenu de bonnes affluence et ont été un grand succès. APAT consiste à s’amuser, à rencontrer la famille du poker et à jouer au poker dans un environnement professionnel à un prix abordable.

En 2018, nous avons continué dans la même optique, mais nous avons constaté que nous n’atteignons plus le nombre élevé de joueurs pour lesquels nous nous sommes fait connaître. Lors du dernier événement, nous avons eu la compétition Venlo le même week-end et d’autres tournois abordables les week-ends précédent et suivant.

C’est pourquoi nous avons décidé de revenir à la table des discussions. Nous avons analysé ce que nous faisions et les domaines dans lesquels nous avions besoin d’amélioration en Belgique. Nos joueurs sont fous de nos événements parallèles spéciaux. Progressive Bounty, Crazy Ananas, MegaTurbo HyperDeepstack, … Nous le réalisons lors de ces événements. Ils obtiennent presque les mêmes scores que notre Main event. Nous avons certainement pris des risques avec nos événements parallèles. Nous avons introduit de nouvelles variantes. Parfois cela fonctionnait, mais parfois par contre cela ne fonctionnait pas. En général, cependant, le nombre de joueurs lors du Main Event semble être en baisse et celui des Side Events en croissance.

Nous allons donc essayer d’apporter quelques modifications au calendrier de cet événement. Le Main Event devient un Bounty progressive. Nous jouons un événement par équipe le vendredi soir et … à la demande du casino de Spa, une journée de départ supplémentaire est prévue le jeudi.

Tag Team est un concept qui a été introduit en Belgique par Pokahnights, un club de poker d’Anvers. Pendant ce temps, il est repris ici ainsi que par d’autres clubs avec toujours un superbe amusement, et une participation importante est toujours garantie. C’est exactement ce que nous recherchons au sein de l’APAT. L’équipe de jeu se joue en 5-Max avec des équipes de deux personnes assises l’une à côté de l’autre à la table. L’action sera déterminée par un autre joueur de l’équipe. Si un joueur preflop joue, l’autre joue au flop, au turn à nouveau, … Nous apportons un bouton supplémentaire dans le jeu pour décider qui doit faire l’action sur votre équipe. Les équipes ne peuvent pas discuter de leurs mains les unes avec les autres. Si votre coéquipier décide de bluffer le tourn et se fait appeler, il vous appartient de rester calme et de résoudre le problème sur la river ou de limiter les dégâts. Pour attirer encore plus de joueurs à cet événement, nous ajouterons 500 crédits APAT au prix en argent de la première équipe!

De plus, le Casino de Spa garantira tous les événements. C’est la toute première fois pour la Belgique et confirme la grande confiance accordée à notre équipe et à la communauté APAT

 

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Comment

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial